Quite a few people have asked me if Rosetta Stone is all it’s cracked up to be. I’ve only worked through a few lessons but so far I like it. It can be challenging when they introduce new terms (especially new verbs which can be hard to figure out from pictures) but after going over the activities two or three times, it’s a lot easier to figure out what was stumping you before.

The only major problem I’ve had so far isn’t really a fault of Rosetta Stone. They provide you with a headset with a microphone so you can interact with the software. When the program starts you’re asked to select which device you’d like to use as your sound/microphone device for the program. I had intially been using Rosetta Stone on an older laptop that didn’t have any built in sound equipment other than speakers, so the headset was the only thing that came up. No problem there.

I recently got a new laptop though (a Hp if people are wondering, I’ll have to add more info later since I can’t remember what the model is). This laptop has a built in webcam, which is awesome, but it also led to a problem. Now when I turn on the program, I get three choices for what sound device I’d like to use. The webcam’s microphone and speakers come up as two separate devices, which means you can’t select both of them to use during the program. Unfortunately, at this point when I selected the headsets provided, they didn’t work.

To make a long story short, after getting really frustrated when the headset seemed to fail and eventually calling up Rosetta Stone’s tech support, I found out you have to go into the laptop’s control panel and have the headset changed to the default sound device. After a couple of tries, I was eventually able to get the laptop to automatically accept the headset as the default sound device when it’s plugged into the USB port.

Just thought I’d share that info. And of course, I’ll talk more about the advantages and disadvantages of Rosetta Stone in further posts.

