It’s a post full of holidays! The Korean holidays are one of the major things I’m excited to learn about when I’m there. But like learning the language, it doesn’t hurt to brush up before hand.

Yesdterday (October 2) in South Korea was Chuseok (추석), the Full Moon Harvest holiday, which similar to Thanksgiving. Korea.net has a cute display of it and I definitely recommend people read it if they want to know more. They give a history of the holiday as well as old and modern Chuseok. And, oh yeah, adorable pictures. It’s a major holiday in Korea and I’m looking forward to eventually being over there and celebrating it myself (next year, of course).

Today (October 3rd) is National Foundation Day, known as Gaecheonjeol (개천절),  in South Korea. It celebrates the founding of the first Korean state, Gojoseon (고조선). The name Gaecheonjeol , I have read, means “Heaven-opened Day”.

Another holiday coming up in South Korea is Korean Day (October 5th). It was started in 2007 as a way for Koreans at home and abroad to better understand each other. A very nice sentiment for a holiday to have.

Finally, the last holiday in October (that I’m aware of)  is Hangul Day, called Han-geullal (한글날), on October 9th. This day commemorates the invention and proclamation of hangul, the Korean alphabet. Hangul was invented by King Sejong the Great.

PS. In case you read the post after this all the way to the very bottom, after writing it I went back and put the hangul in this post after their romanized counter-parts. Yay, editing!

