As it turns out, learning Korean numbers wasn’t as hard as I thought it would be but it was still a challenge at first. It was tough to master 1-6, especially because there are two different sets of numbers in Korean: one set in Native Korean and one set in Sino-Korean, which is influenced by Chinese. I still haven’t figured out exactly when which is used when, but Native Korean is used for counting things. I’ve heard Sino-Korean is for telling time but I haven’t gotten to that in Rosetta Stone yet. Luckily, once you have 1-6 (reasonably) down, Rosetta Stone is set up to make it easier to learn later numbers.

I’ve just started Lesson 2 of Unit 2 (woo-hoo!). In L1U2, they introduce numbers 7-12. But they mix them up with the 1-6 numbers that you (should) already know, so its easier to remember the new numbers. And L2U2 is continuing to drill numbers and colors while introducing new information.

As for the progress on procrastination, I’ve been doing really well with studying, but unfortunately not 1-hour-a-day well. It’s a little difficult since my work schedule sometimes makes it difficult to study for an hour. This weekend I worked both Saturday and Sunday. I probably could have studied on Saturday but chose to watch a movie with my family instead. And Sunday I was waaaaay to pooped. BUT – to make up for not studying this weekend, I studied for over an hour today. I went back to Unit 1 of Rosetta Stone and made sure I had 100% correctness on all my lessons (except the Pronunciation lessons…), then chunked out the beginnings of L1U2 and L2U2.

And I found some new Korean language resources (now on the Korean Sites page), so it was a pretty good day for me, in terms of learning Korean.

