November is shaping up to be an interesting month for me. First of all, it’s November 5th and you know what that means – it’s Guy Fawkes Day/ Bonfire Night in the United Kingdom and some of its former colonies. Some of those colonies are not the United States, where we do not celebrate the Parliament-burning adventures of Guy Fawkes, although the day is a good excuse to watch V for Vendetta.

In other news, I’ve got a good amount going on this month, which has unfortunately been taking away my time that I’d normally use to study Korean. First of all, I’ve worked about 12 days in a row this month, which is crazy but 1. I need the money for Korea and 2. I’m actually not burnt out. At least not yet – with Christmas coming up, work promises to start getting very busy…  Fortunately, next week it looks I’m getting four days off. Which isn’t so great for earning money but it will give me time to get back into studying Korean more seriously and to really knock out the next thing I’m doing – NaNoWriMo.

I had heard of NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) before but for some reason this particular November it finally caught my eye and I decided to do it. Write one 50,000 word novel in one month. I’ve actually typed a lot already and will easily make the deadline, but I’ve paid the price in not studying Korean as much. But it’s a lot of fun so I’ll take the break from studying for now.

Out of curiosity I looked up how many people were signed up for NaNoWriMo in Korea – not very many. Or at least only a few have actually registered what region they’re writing in: 52 in Busan and 327 in Seoul. In comparisons, my region (United States:Maryland) has 2929. I guess I’m just going to have to participate next year when I’m in Korea and help get their numbers up.

So between working, writing and sleeping, there’s not to much time to study. BUT November is also the month I’m supposed to find out when I’m going to Korea (and maybe even where), so I’m looking forward to that. Hopefully they’ll tell me very soon because I’m starting to get antsy.

