Okay, so here’s the deal. Yesterday I received the new contract which has me working in Hwaseong starting December 4th. Although the date is better and leaves me more time to get ready (oh by the way, my old contract had me going over to Korea before my Visa was ready – that’s why it was cancelled), there are two things “wrong” with it.

  1. I’m no longer working in Gumi. This isn’t really something wrong, but it does make me a little sad. I only knew I was going to Gumi for a couple of days, but I actually got kind of attached to the city. It was described as an “industrial, mid-sized city” and the word “industrial” really turned me off, but I liked the idea of being in the land that used to be the Silla kingdom. And I was looking forward to visiting all the temples and historic sites in the area.
  2. My old contract paid me using a monthly rate salary. This new contract (although for more money, woot!) pays me with an hourly rate salary. I won’t bore you with the details about the difference between these (unless you want me to) but basically, I would MUCH rather have a monthly rate salary. Hopefully I’ll be able to negotiate for a monthly salary. I don’t know how flexible Chung Dahm is with this sort of thing.

I probably won’t be able to talk to the Chung Dahm representative until next Monday or Tuesday, so we’ll have to wait and see what happens.

