This probably should have been my first “A Day in My Life” post. I don’t suppose I’ve actually talked about the levels and such at Chung Dahm. But I figured I should go over those really quick before I talk about the classes I teach.

First of all, there’s April Institute and there’s CDI, which are both Chung Dahm schools. April Institute is the lowest level, for kids just starting to learn English. Their levels are Seedbed, Seedling, Sprout and Sapling and those levels have a couple of 1,2,3 levels within them. And that’s about all I know about April, because I don’t teach there.

Which brings me to CDI. There are three basic levels, E-Chip, Memory English and Interactive English, and then those have more levels with in them. Here’s the basic break down:

1. E-chip

2. Memory English (named after megabyte, gigabyte, terabyte)

  • Mega
  • Giga
  • Tera

3. Bridge (a no-man’s land between Memory and Interactive English!)

4. Interactive English (named mostly after golf terms, oh yeah)

  • Par
  • Birdie
  • Eagle
  • Albatross
  • Albatross+

5. Masters (I don’t know what the deal with this level is)

I’ve been trained in Interactive English, although in all likelihood I’ll end up teaching the other levels at some point too. In all the levels (… or at least all the Interactive English levels…) there’s a reading/writing class and a listening/speaking class. With that said! Here is my schedule (for the next 3 weeks, at which point this term will end):

Monday 4pm Bridge Reading (elementary schoolers); 7pm Bridge Reading (middle schoolers)

Tuesday 4pm Birdie Reading (elementary schoolers); 7pm Birdie Reading (middle schoolers)

Wednesday 4pm Par Reading (elementary schoolers)

Thursday 4pm Bridge Listening (elementary schoolers); 7pm Bridge Listening (middle schoolers)

Friday 4pm Bridge Listening (elementary schoolers)

Generally speaking, I like teaching the listening classes better because there’s significantly more discussion and significantly less skill theory teaching (which is pretty boring, at least for me). Also, generally speaking, the elementary school kids are easier/ more fun to teach because they are more eager to participate and strangely enough they’re more fluent, even when the middle schoolers are on the same level. I imagine this might be different if I taught E-chip or Memory English but I don’t teach that (yet) so I can’t say for sure.

But the fun part of all the classes is that they end with a Critical Thinking Project, where the kids break up into group and design a discussion/talk show/skit/whatever around the theme of that lesson, which they then present. And sometimes, if we have enough time and if my classes are small enough, I let them draw a picture on my board to go with their presentations. And then I take pictures of the pictures, because they’re adorable. Here is such a picture (from my 7pm Birdie class when they had to design a CTP about saving an endangered animal):

Critical Thinking Project Pictures!

Aren't they adorable! Especially the pink dolphin one (... not that I pick favorites...)

