And now for the Sunday part of the story.

Sunday morning was pretty relaxed. I took my time cleaning my apartment. Sweeping is much easier when you don’t have two rabbits sitting in your dust pan. Then around 5pm I set out on my rabbit retrieving adventure. And the disasterous day began.

First of all, I knew from Saturday I wanted to buy some things at Gangnam station but you can haggle with cash, which I did not have, so I went over to Hana Bank (which is by work, so convenient on Monday-Friday but slightly inconvenient on Sunday when you’re trying to catch a bus). I put in my bank card and my pin… and do not get any money. Unfortunately I could not read the error message since it was in Korean. I try a couple of more times and decide that it looks like my pin number isn’t working.

Ooookay. That’s a problem but… I can fix it on Monday. So I head across the street and wait for bus 5100 to take me to Gangnam. When I swipe on I realize that I have just enough cash to get me to Dr. Pet and back before my T-Money card (the card we use to ride buses, subways, taxis, etc. here) runs out. Well it’s a good thing I’m not planning on making any pit stops!

But then, to my horror, instead of turning around at Kyunghee University (which is near my house and where I normally pick up the 5100) it stops there… And the bus driver kicks me off… Because this is the end of the line for him. Whhhaaaaa?! He couldn’t have warned us about this? SO I have to wait for another 5100 to come along and WASTE another ₩1,700 to get to Gangnam. Shoot. Now how will I get home.

But it’s okay! I can use my debit card to put more money on my T-Money card. Right? Right? WRONG! But we’ll get to that later.

After getting into Gangnam, I take the subway two stops over to Seoullung Station and look for the exit opposite the Burger King, since that was the exit Quinn and I entered from the day before. I figured that one intersection couldn’t POSSIBLY have more than one Burger King.

Well. I was wrong. I wandered down the street opposite from Burger King for around 15 minutes before I decided it was clearly the wrong road (I had a feeling it was from the beginning but it was opposite the Burger King so it HAD to be right). And this point, it was dark. And I had the Dr. Pet business card in my wallet so I could take a taxi there except NO I COULDN’T BECAUSE I WAS OUT OF T-MONEY NOOOOO!

At this point, I start walking about to Seoullung Station, jogging a little since it’s getting late and I don’t want Dr. Pet to close because then my rabbits would be stuck there until I could pick them up again next Saturday (as in yesterday). I call up Dr. Pet and they tell me I need to exit the station from exit 7 (I had gone out exit 1). I leave through exit 7 and IMMEDIATELY recognize the street (which is weird since streets in Korea look way different at night- another reason I didn’t turn around when I didn’t recognize the street opposite the Burger King).

And after a ten-ish minute walk, I arrive at Dr. Pet’s. Now let me back track just a moment. This whole trip I’m thinking that something is going to go wrong when I get to the vet. He’s going to tell me there was a problem and one of my rabbits will be dead or something horrible like that. So I get there and I go into the doc’s office to get my rabbits – who I could both see and they were both fine – and the vet tech tell me something happened… uh oh… But… they’re both okay so it can’t be that bad. It wasn’t but it was annoying.

It turns out both Sherlock and Watson were girls, which I was annoyed at for two reasons. Reason 1: I didn’t have to get them fixed after all. However, it is a weak reason motivated by cheapness since responsible pet owners get their pets fixed (and sadly I keep reading how female rabbits that aren’t breed or spayed usually die of cancer after a year or two).

Reason 2: Getting a female rabbit spayed is more expensive (at least in Korea) than neutering a male rabbit. And by a lot too. Paying for sherlock to get “neutered” wasn’t a big deal but when I saw the higher price tag for Watson I was like ‘Wha?!’. Aww man, they’re going to make me pay the difference before I got home, aren’t they? They asked me to pay some of the difference but Dr. Choi gave me a discount because he made the identification mistake in the first place. *sigh* Couldn’t he give me a 100% discount? Well, whatever. It’s over and I’m not going to have to deal with having to do this again and hopefully it’ll make Sherlock less aggressive towards Watson (although by this point she had mellowed a lot) and they’ll be healthier. I wouldn’t want to take them back to the US (which, as a responsible pet owner, I am planning to do) and then have them die of cancer in a couple months. As a final note, the vet tech said I would have to bring them back to get their stitches removed in a week. Maaaaaan. At least now I know exactly how to get to Dr. Pet.

Taking my rabbits away (after paying the last of the bill *grumble grumble*), I popped into a nearby Mini-Stop and tried to refill my T-Money card with my debit card. The cashier was really confused by my debit card but tried to fill up the T-Money anyway. But she could not. Because you can ONLY refill your T-Money card with CASH! NOOOOO! Okay. So basically I’m stranded in Seoullung because I don’t even have enough cash (I had only ₩300 on me) or T-Money money (₩200 on the card) to get me back to Gangnam (which costs ₩900), let along enough to get on the bus back to Suwon.

At this point, I was pretty angry with Bus 5100 and the fact that my pin number was continuing to not work. I started thinking about people I could call to come get me, including some of my training buddies who live in Seoul, but eventually I called Quinn since I figured, having come here with me on Saturday, he’d be the most willing to come get me now.

When I called him, it turns out he was eating dinner with Alex. I explained the situation to them and after they assured me that sometimes the debit cards have ‘black-out hours’ where you can’t withdraw money during these hours and that I COULD get money out if I keep trying and after I assured them that no, there’s something wrong with my pin number and I had been trying to get money out for hours, Quinn agreed to come bring me cash so I could get home. We agreed to meet in Gangnam.

Now… given that this blog is public… I won’t say exactly how I got back to Gangnam but… it may OR may not have involved me waiting around until certain check-in and check-out areas in certain subways stations were reasonably vacant and then…

Poof! Like magic I was in Gangnam. It’s ashame I had no cash on me to buy some of the stuff I wanted as I waited for Quinn. Once he got there, we hopped back on the 5100, which was packed so I stood with the rabbits between my feet for the 30mins-50min-ish ride back home.

And yesterday, when I took them (without a single hitch, all by myself, in beautiful weather) to get their stitches removed, I put about ₩50,ooo on my stupid T-Money card (having fixed the issue with my pin number first thing last Monday) so this stupid day doesn’t happen again.

*grumble grumble*

