Last Saturday (May 8th), was my second big Adventure Korea trip.  Once again, I woke up at the crack of dawn and caught the bus to Gangnam, and caught another bus to Chungcheongbuk-do, the province right next to Gyeonggi-do (where I live).

The first stop on the trip was the Chungju Dam (Check out that hyerlink; how awesome is it that there’s a website for the Korea National Committee on Large Dams? Or that there is such a committee?), the largest concrete dam in Korea and one of the largest in Asia. And yet somehow, I’m pretty sure I did not actually see it. We took a ferry to our next destination and unfortunately I was so beat from waking up early and not being able to nap on the bus that somehow the giant concrete dam in the middle of the ridiculously green forest eluded me. But I napped on the boat, along with most of the training gang that I was traveling with, which gave me enough energy to continue with our journey.

The second stop on the trip was Gosu cave (고수동굴 – gosudonggul; from the signs, I figured out donggul must mean ‘cave’) in Danyang, Korea’s National Monument # 256. Now, I’ve caved before but this has got to be one of the smallest caves and spaces I’ve ever been in. I’m a tiny person and sometimes even I was brushing up against the rock. This cave had passages that were tiny by Korean standards. But it was a nice hike (one that almost killed Derrika with all its stairs) and a cool thing to add to my list of random things I’ve done in Korea.

After the cave, we traveled to Dodam Sambong (도담삼봉 – three peak island) which is this formation of three rocks in the water with a pavilion called Ihogangjeong. I’m not sure if that’s the name of that particular pavilion or that’s just the word for all the pavilions but… I’m going to pretend that pavilion is special enough to have its own name. This is suppose to be an important site that scholars visited during the Joseon Dynasty (1392-1910) so I wouldn’t be too surprised. The pavilion was built to comfort families that had lost people in floods caused by Chungju Dam. Following this, we hiked up a mini-mountain to see Seokmun (석문 – stone gate) which is basically a neat little land bridge. Which we were not allowed to climb. Because someone would most definitely fall off and die after falling the hundred or so feet into the rocky water below.

And with that happy thought, I leave you with some beautiful pictures.

Beautiful greenery and some pretty cool cliffs.

Flowers, mountains and water. What more could you ask for in a scenery picture?

This formation kind of looks like a bat to me.

Your standard, kinda freaky drippy cave rocks.

It's pretty hard to read the sign, but basically this is a Fairy Bathing Area

Tranquil, yes?

It's a land bridge.

