Saturday was the big day! Miss Saigon!

On Saturday, Quinn, Vy and I hoofed it over to Dongdaemun in Seoul to see a performance of Miss Saigon – in Korean! A language of which we have only the most basic knowledge! And between the three of us, our knowledge of the plot was okay, although there was room for improvement.

The only thing I really knew about the musical was what Quinn told me right before we went to see it, and that knowledge came from the performance he saw when he was a kid so… yeah…It would have been easy to just Wikipedia Miss Saigon and read the story but I thought it might be nice to try and figure out the story with my basic understanding of the plot. And that strategy (which is similar to the one Vy was employing) worked pretty well. Kudos to the performers for making it easy for us.

The musical was excellent, although now that I’ve heard the music for the first time in Korean, the English version of the songs just don’t sound right. We bought tickets for the cheap seats but they ended up being great. Being dead center for “The Morning of the Dragon” is definitely a must. I’ve been trying to find another performance of the song on YouTube but nothing that I find is even close to how awesome this one was. Huge flags, a sea of red, on-point martial arts-based¬†choreography. Very awesome. Also awesome – the crazy over the top, video enhanced rendition of “American Dream”. Honestly, I wish there was a video somewhere of their performances. I did manage to find this video of “I Still Believe” (sung by Kim Bo-Kyung and Kim Sun-Young who played Kim and Ellen, respectively, in the performance we saw) which also happens to have the last seconds of “The Morning of the Dragon” in it. So at least you can see their costumes.

And the evening following the performance was just as excellent in a surprisingly low key way. We went to Hongdae, in hopes of meeting with some friends that never showed up. But all was not lost! We ended up in the park outside Hongik University and goofed around on the swings, which was a shockingly excellent way to spend our time. Unfortunately, I also ended up kicking Quinn in the face, something that (I have a feeling) might come back to haunt me. And then we chilled out with some fellow foreigns and some friendly Koreans who taught us words we can’t remember, until the sun rose again.

We stayed in Seoul until the next morning to go to Big Rock Brewery, which serves an American-style breakfast buffet in Gangnam (introduced to us, coincidently, by the people we were supposed to meet in Hongdae). It’s very similar to Butterfingers, which I mentioned in a previous post, but it’s a little cheaper. And it doesn’t open until 11am so we were basically camped outside in the rain until it opened. That’s how much we love Big Rock.

And now I have next weekend to look forward to: MudFest 2010!

