Yesterday was Pepero (빼빼로) Day. Some in the US of A complain about Valentine’s Day being made up by marketing companies, well Pepero Day is like that. Except even more so. Pepero are these skinny wafer sticks covered in chocolate and sometimes nuts. They’re basically Korean Pocky, if you’re familiar with that. And since if you lay them next to each other, they make the number 11, the Lotte company that makes Pepero decided that 11/11 should be Peppero Day, when people give each other Peppero. (Lotte denies they actually started it, but I have my suspicions.)

I’m actually kind of bummed I’m missing out on 11/11/11, but I’m not staying another full year just for that.

Anyway, I was debating if I want to celebrate this day with my students, since I didn’t want to spoil them by giving them all Pepero and even if it is really cheap, buying a box for my 32 students  who I teach today would add up. But for the past few weeks, I’ve been having them get into teams to do their work, so instead I gave a box to the team with the most points by the end of class. A reward for participation and good behavior. Yes, bribery.

